Excerpts from Pocket Observatory
voicemails from meg conley
10 minutes on Heather Armstrong
39
0:00
-10:12

10 minutes on Heather Armstrong

She saved my life.
39

Content warning: This is about someone who died by suicide.

I hate that all the obituaries are calling her a mommy blogger because, if I recall correctly, she hated that term. Or maybe she didn’t, and I just hate it? Either way. Here’s a a mommy blogger flat lay photo. Posted out of anger? If that makes sense?

A few notes to go along with the audio.

Heather Armstrong died yesterday. I think that will mean something to some of you, and nothing to others. I was honestly surprised by what the news did to me, a person who hasn’t thought about her in any way, at all, for years and years.

I recorded this sitting in a car, that was sitting in a parking lot. The sound quality isn’t the best. And it’s a little rambling. But I don’t know. I wanted to process the news with people. And you’re people. And processing isn’t always neat. I know you get that.

After I got home, I googled Heather Armstrong. And it seems like there was even more going on in the years since I stopped following her than I’d realized. But that doesn't really change anything I felt or said.

I think this is the most honest, compassionate tribute I’ve seen from someone who once knew her very well. I appreciated it.

As someone who didn’t know Heather, and didn’t really even know about her after 2012, I don’t really feel equipped to comment on her or her life. So in this audio letter I mostly talk about her impact on me.

Someday, I might write more fully about how radically important it was to me that she, and others like her, left the LDS church publicly, while also modeling the ability to - however messily - hold on to their still-LDS extended families. But for now, there’s this ten minutes of me in my car.

Share

I reference a few things in here, that you may not know about, if you haven’t been here for long. So…

Here’s a newsletter about me leaving the LDS church. I talk a little about cosmic dawn in here too.

Here’s a newsletter about motherhood and online-ness being fairly fraught, especially in the early years of internet influence.

Here’s a newsletter, one of many, where I write a little about my PPD.

Here’s where I am with motherhood as an idea now.

39 Comments
Excerpts from Pocket Observatory
voicemails from meg conley
You're too busy for another podcast. Me too. So this is just a voicemail, the kind we used to leave one another before texting and social media. Once or twice a week, I leave you a message about politics, the economy, culture and home. I guess these voicemails are companions to my newsletter, homeculture. But like any message worth leaving, they stand just fine on their own too. Just imagine I'm calling you from a Vtech Jelly Bean cordless phone, in translucent purple. I'll imagine you're listening to my message on your Vtech Jelly Bean cordless phone in translucent red. Talk soon.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Meg Conley
Recent Episodes
27:42
19:07
18:34
16:11
4:44
1:30
25:39
15:27