Excerpts from Pocket Observatory
voicemails from meg conley
I left you a message
0:00
-25:39

I left you a message

about Tim Ballard, who is not a hero.
Transcript

No transcript...

Well, this voicemail is kind of a bummer. I am sorry! It’ll be more chipper next week.

Listen on Spotify

In 2021, I wrote a piece about going on an anti-human trafficking raid with Tim Ballard and Operation Underground Railroad.

Here it is:

Called by God: In 2014, I went on a vigilante raid to “save” kids sold for sex. What we did haunts me now.

I was aware of alleged issues in the organization. But I could not write about them, for reasons I go into in the voicemail. I hoped that by publishing the piece I could write, I’d create a space where people felt safe enough to come forward. Or that the institutions providing legitimacy to Ballard - like the LDS Church - would begin to interrogate that relationship. But it just…. didn’t work out that way.

It seems a reckoning might finally be happening. But ummmm what took so long?

Related reading

The first post in my series on the LDS Church and Abuse

Sound of Freedom is part of an augmented reality project

Mormon Church Denounces Tim Ballard’s “Morally Unacceptable” Activities

All of Vice’s Reporting on O.U.R.

Related Listening

Two interviews I’ve done about O.U.R.

Excerpts from Pocket Observatory
voicemails from meg conley
You're too busy for another podcast. Me too. So this is just a voicemail, the kind we used to leave one another before texting and social media.
Once or twice a week, I leave you a message about politics, the economy, culture and home. I guess these voicemails are companions to my newsletter, homeculture. But like any message worth leaving, they stand just fine on their own too.
Just imagine I'm calling you from a Vtech Jelly Bean cordless phone, in translucent purple. I'll imagine you're listening to my message on your Vtech Jelly Bean cordless phone in translucent red. Talk soon.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Meg Conley